Finalizing and Protecting Documents


Document Inspector

Whenever you create or edit a document, certain personal information may be added to the file automatically. You can use the Document Inspector to remove this kind of information before sharing a document with others.

Because some changes may be permanent, it's a good idea to use Save As to create a backup copy of your document before using the Document Inspector.

To use the Document Inspector:

  1. Click the File tab to go to Backstage view.
  2. From the Info pane, click Check for Issues, then select Inspect Document from the drop-down menu.

01-final_inspect_command

The Document Inspector will appear. Check or uncheck the boxes, depending on the content you wish to review, then click Inspect. In our example, we'll leave everything selected.

02-final_inspect_click

The inspection results will show an exclamation mark for any categories where it found potentially sensitive data, and it will also have a Remove All button for each of those categories. Click Remove All to remove the data.

03-final_inspect_remove2

When you're done, click Close.

04-final_inspect_close

Protecting your document

By default, anyone with access to your document will be able to open, copy, and edit its content unless you protectit. There are many different ways to protect a document, depending on your needs.

To protect your document:

  1. Click the File tab to go to Backstage view.
  2. From the Info pane, click the Protect Document command.
  3. In the drop-down menu, choose the option that best suits your needs. In our example, we'll select Mark as Final. Marking your document as final is a good way to discourage others from editing the file, while the other options give you even more control if needed.

05-final_mark_command

A dialog box will appear prompting you to save. Click OK.

06-final_mark_ok

Another dialog box will appear. Click OK.

07-final_mark_dialog2

The document will be marked as final.

08-final_mark_done

Marking a document as final will not prevent someone from editing it. If you want to prevent people from editing it, you can use the Restrict Access option instead.

 

VIDEO TUTORIAL


Advertisements