Saving and Sharing Documents - Part 1


Save and Save As

 

Word offers two ways to save a file: Save and Save As. These options work in similar ways, with a few important differences:

  • Save: When you create or edit a document, you'll use the Save command to save your changes. You'll use this command most of the time. When you save a file, you'll only need to choose a file name and location the first time. After that, you can just click the Save command to save it with the same name and location.
  • Save As: You'll use this command to create a copy of a document while keeping the original. When you use Save As, you'll need to choose a different name and/or location for the copied version.

 

To save a document:

 

It's important to save your document whenever you start a new project or make changes to an existing one. Saving early and often can prevent your work from being lost. You'll also need to pay close attention to where you save the document so it will be easy to find later.

  1. - Locate and select the Save command on the Quick Access toolbar.

1

  1. - If you're saving the file for the first time, the Save As pane will appear in Backstage view.
  2. - You'll then need to choose where to save the file and give it a file name. To save the document to your computer, select Computer, and then click Browse. Alternatively, you can click OneDrive to save the file to your OneDrive.

2

  1. - The Save As dialog box will appear. Select the location where you wish to save the document.
  2. - Enter a file name for the document, then click Save.

3

  1. The document will be saved. You can click the Save command again to save your changes as you modify the document.

You can also access the Save command by pressing Ctrl+S on your keyboard.

 

Using Save As to make a copy

 

If you want to save a different version of a document while keeping the original, you can create a copy. For example, if you have a file named "Sales Report", you could save it as "Sales Report 2" so you'll be able to edit the new file and still refer back to the original version.

 

To do this, you'll click the Save As command in Backstage view. Just like when saving a file for the first time, you'll need to choose where to save the file and give it a new file name.

4

To change the default save location:

 

If you don't want to use OneDrive, you may be frustrated that OneDrive is selected as the default location when saving. If you find it inconvenient to select Computer each time, you can change the default save location so Computer is selected by default.

  1. 1. Click the File tab to access Backstage view.

5

  1. 2. Click Options.

7

  1. 3. The Word Options dialog box will appear. Select Save, check the box next to Save to Computer by default, then click OK. The default save location will be changed.

7

AutoRecover

 

Word automatically saves your documents to a temporary folder while you are working on them. If you forget to save your changes or if Word crashes, you can restore the file using AutoRecover.

 

To use AutoRecover:

  1. Open Word 2013. If auto-saved versions of a file are found, the Document Recovery pane will appear. 
  2. Click to open an available file. The document will be recovered.

8

By default, Word autosaves every 10 minutes. If you are editing a document for less than 10 minutes, Word may not create an autosaved version.

 

If you don't see the file you need, you can browse all autosaved files from Backstage view. Just select the File tab, click Manage Versions, then choose Recover Unsaved Documents.

9

 


Advertisements